soundproofing a closet for guitar amplifier

cutout

I'm fairly new at recording and have all my gear set up in a small 10'x10' room. Right now there is nothing to dampen the sound. Plus, I play a Fender Twin very loud which is making it hard to overdub & hear properly through headphones.

Anyway, I have a bunch of egg cartons that I was going to use to baffle the inside of a small closet and point the Fender Twin into the closet.

twin.JPG

(Note: I need a longer cable to move it closer to the closet)

Has anyone tried a setup like this?

Are we talking about sound-proofing or sound dampening? 2 different things.

I'm not even going to go near the egg-crate conversation. :eek:

Well in truth, I'm really just getting started. Currently there is nothing to dampen the amp. A friend of mine came over and looked at my setup and commented that the room was very live and another friend recommended soundproofing the room. I'm just sort of grasping in the dark to know which his best.

So is the incentive to putting an amp in a soundproof box or closet, for example, to get rid of all room noise including reverb? I honestly don't hate the sound I'm getting now. But if there are some simple things to contain the sound, like rockwooling the walls of the closet, that would help, I'd definitely try it.

Well in truth, I'm really just getting started. Currently there is nothing to dampen the amp. A friend of mine came over and looked at my setup and commented that the room was very live and another friend recommended soundproofing the room. I'm just sort of grasping in the dark to know which his best.

So is the incentive to putting an amp in a soundproof box or closet, for example, to get rid of all room noise including reverb? I honestly don't hate the sound I'm getting now. But if there are some simple things to contain the sound, like rockwooling the walls of the closet, that would help, I'd definitely try it.