Soundcraft 1600 and Fostex tape recorder hook up

theshoemakerstu

Hi fellas, I finaly got my hands on a Soundcraft series 1600 and i would like to connect it to my Fostex 16 track tape recorder.
Since im a analog tape recorder noob, I was wondering, how the hell do you connect it to the soundcraft mixer? I noticed there is "line in" and "line out" and there is also a two big plugs behind the mixerboard that says "track 1-8" and "track 9-16".
I would like to record onto the tape and then listen to it afterwards and be able to control the volume.
I've read the manual, and i found a easy way to connect it to a 8 track recorder. But i would like to be able to control each channel on a drum track etc.
Anyone who could cast some light on my problem? Im not dumb, im just a newbie :)

The big plugs are most likely multipin plugs for the groupt outs or tape outs, and then you return through the tape returns. Are the plugs 25 pin?

I was thinking the same thing.
DB25 connectors I bet. You could buy the cables premade or make them yourself.
Otherwise just use the tape in and tape out jacks on each channel.

there isnt a tape in and tape out on each channel. Its only on the group channels. And its pretty anoying :(
Either way, there was a 24 channel version of the Series 1600 that had a patch bay.
It could connect easily to the patch bay and the tape machine.
but no its not a DB25, I should say the mixer is from 1983.
I found out that the plug is called "ADAT Multicabel" you can try to find a pic on google, since i cant post URL's here yet :(

Last edited:
hmm i read this in the manual about the patch bay:

"5. Tape tracks

Patch points allow acces into the input on each tape track.