Sound Card vs. Layla or equiv.

Michael S

I am new to computer recording, but want to start off on a good foot. By the way, this website IS AWESOME!! It's helped from day one. My question is, I have a SB Live card and want to know what benefit, besides more simultaneous recording channels, I would get from a product like AARK, Layla or others? I'm using it with Cakewalk 8, if that matters much.

Thanks in advance
Michael S

What he says...the better cards are quieter too, less electrical noise, see https://homerecording.com/digital_results.html
but for many people the extra cost is not worth it. If you can hear the difference, that's another story. To me, even though my Yamaha card does a good job, the sound quality difference is quite obvious on most program material that doesn't consist of distorted guitar :)

aside from the obvious better converters less noise ect. there is also a DSP advantage the event cards and the midiman 2044 and some others have dedicated DSP hardware too...which offloads some of the audio processing from the host CPU, letting you record more trax and use more plug ins than you could with a cheaper sound card

Well, I went ahead and shelled out for the DMAN 2044. Talk about opening doors! I also bought the Line 6 POD (thanks to the rave revue on this site). I do notice a difference in the recording quality, not to mention the convenience of 4 tracks at once. Thanks for all of your input.

P.S. The Line 6 POD is by FAR the best piece of music equipment I have EVER bought. Those of you who are thinking about it or are having trouble getting a great guitar sound recorded on your computer...try it, you'll buy it!

[This message has been edited by Michael S (edited 08-17-1999).]

Well- I got bit by the POD bug this weekend
and I'm pretty happy with it as well, BUT:
Don't let yourself get all fuzzy about this