Sound Blaster Live! Woes

Neonlite

Hello. I'm new to home recording, but am looking forward to learning and getting equipped with some decent software and hardware. I currently use Cakewalk Guitar software (8-tracks) and my Sound Blaster Live! Value (Valueless?) that came with my Dell (not built in).

First, the version of my sound card has 5 connectors:
1) joystick/midi
2) front speakers/subwoofer
3) rear speakers
4) microphone
5) digital out

I cannot find any info on this on the internet. The digital out thing is always listed as "aux in" in the manuals. Dell didn't feel it was necessary to provide a manuel, so I am confused. The microphone stinks. I get horrible buzz and distortion and cannot hear the instrument while I play through the computer until after I am finished laying the track. This alone is very frustrating. I read on this site that the microphone is a no no for recording, but what are my alternatives? Digital out certainly does not work as a Line In. :(

If there is no solution, I would appreciate some advice on a decent sound card and some better software. I really need some good digital drumming because i am a guitar/bass player and although I have a Gretsch drum set, am not skilled enough on them to match my guitar playing. I record anything from slow accoustical folk to grinding hard-core metal and want some drum solution that can handle that. Suggestions? :) Thanks in advance!

-Scott

Actually I bet that the digital out does multifunction as a line in.... like the old SB PCI128 cards where the secondary speaker output doubled as line in. There was a switch in the SB software if I remember correctly.

Try finding a manual on the creative labs website!

Slackmaster 2000

Thanks Slackmaster 2000.