Sony Vaio?

Jagular

Hi guys!!

This really isn't related to recording, but I know a lot of you guys are knowledgeable about these things.

I know nothing about these machines. My Mom is looking for a machine to use for movie editing as well as general use. She has a $700 in-store credit at Best Buy that she would like to use and this is the only machine they have there that can do what she wants (supposedly). She needs to captupre analog video a well as digital video.

What do you guys think about these machines? I'm clueless.

TIA :)

Among other things, I'm the de facto IT guy here at work. We've got two VAIOs here, a laptop and a desktop. I want to drop-kick both of them.
this is the only machine they have there that can do what she wants (supposedly).
Doubtful.

I'm hesitant to even mention it, but eMachines has apparently done a complete 180 from where they used to be in terms quality and support. I have no first-hand knowledge of this, but it's been relatively big computer news recently. Anyway, I know they sell eMachines at Best Buy so I thought I'd mention it.

Whatever you buy at Best Buy, research what their machines can do since alot of sales people will tell you whatever you want to hear to get you to buy and get out of their hair. Most of the VAIOs I fix are overpriced garbage. They tend to be about a year behind the curve on mainstream vid cards which causes some confusion when people try to play a new game on one. (I guess these days, anything that's not integrated is a stroke of luck though) As for Emachines: Still not the fastest things but at least an Emachine is somewhat standard ATX so you can gut the thing after you find out it can't do what you want it to do...
Try to avoid anything with onboard or "shared" video if you can. If you're video editing, this will cause slow downs as the video subsystem and the OS compete for memory bandwidth.