Sony TC-136SD: worth it?

Leinad

I've found one of these in a pawn shop near me, I've tested it and it all works fine. I'm new to analog recording and I want something to start me off quite cheaply (This one's £10!) so is this a good unit to start me off? Or if you have another suggestion that's better I'd appreciate it :)

For that kind of money I'd grab it. It looks to be very well made, mid-late 70's model, expensive in its day. Just a well made stereo cassette deck. Has 1/4" mic inputs and limiter which is cool for live recordings. Nothing wrong with starting out on this deck. Be aware that those things use rubber belts and pinch roller, (also maybe idler wheels), all of which degrade over the years and may be due for a change or servicing. Not expensive (if you do it) but it's just part of routine maintenance. Other than that, those things usually last a lifetime. Remember to properly clean the tape transport. If you're curious, want more details, ask again.

Okay, I think I'll get it then :). I was looking at pdf's of the service manual and they're about £3/4 which is reasonable. Do you know where I could buy belts, pinch rollers etc? How would I go about cleaning the tape transports?

Congrats with your R2R :)
For spares go search Ebay. As far as I know the only company selling new spares is Tascam and maybe parts like belts and pinch rollers might be compatible in some cases.

Cool, I'll take a look :). Thanks for the help guys I really appreciate it! I've been looking online at what tape to use; and chrome tape (TDK SA etc) would give me better results that ferrite tape right?

Uh, don't know about tape material, some of the experienced users gotta answer that but consider buying tape from RMGI which is a company from Holland making tapes from well-known formulas.
When it comes to old tape I really dig the sound of Scotch.

Much of this comes down to tape, which machine you're using and what kind of tape it is set up for.