song writing practice for everyone!

UNIQNESS

i'm a beginning song writer and i recently did an assignment which i have to change some words and make the piece still flow well. it's a very beginning technique that you learn as a song writer and i wanted to see what kind of creative ideas for rhymes everyone comes up with. i think it would be a good practice for those who are starting to write songs.

change the underlined words to other words. the rhymed words are bolded.

song: You're the Top! (1934) by Cole Porter

You're the top! You're the Coliseum.
You're the top! You're the Louvre Museum.
You're the melody from symphony by strauss.
You're a Bendel bonnet.
A Shakespeare sonnet. You are Mickey Mouse!

You're the Nile! You're the Tow'r of Pisa.
You're the smile on the Mona Lisa.
I'm a worthless check, a total wreck, a flop!
But if baby I'm the bottom, you're the top!

whoa. This is...uh...like work. I think I might be too bussed for this assignment. That, and I don't get it. Well, sorta. But not so much that I can justify trying to...what was I saying?

Oh shit - that didn't rhyme.

UNIQNESS said:
i'm a beginning song writer and i recently did an assignment which i have to change some words and make the piece still flow well. it's a very beginning technique that you learn as a song writer and i wanted to see what kind of creative ideas for rhymes everyone comes up with. i think it would be a good practice for those who are starting to write songs.

change the underlined words to other words. the rhymed words are bolded.

song: You're the Top! (1934) by Cole Porter

You're the top! You're the Coliseum.
You're the top! You're the Louvre Museum.
You're the melody from symphony by strauss.
You're a Bendel bonnet.
A Shakespeare sonnet. You are Mickey Mouse!

You're the Nile! You're the Tow'r of Pisa.
You're the smile on the Mona Lisa.
I'm a worthless check, a total wreck, a flop!
But if baby I'm the bottom, you're the top!