Something a little different

Peru

I'm an English teacher living in Peru. I need to record a CD with English conversations designed to aid students in their learning process. A sample conversation is below:

A: Hello, my name's Paula. What's your name?
B: Rosa
A: Where are you from, Rosa?
B: I'm from Argentina.

My plan is to record four separate wav files, combine them into one, convert it to an MP3 and then store it in a directory for burning onto an audio CD.

I have a microphone, which came with my DVD player. It's designed for karaoke. Questions:

How do I know if this mic is any good?
What software programs do I need? How much do they cost?
How can I ensure a minimum of background noise?
What am I overlooking?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

How do I know if this mic is any good?

Does it sound good when you talk through it?

What software programs do I need? How much do they cost?

Download a program called Audacity...it's free.
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

How can I ensure a minimum of background noise?

Try and get away from your computer as far as you can...make sure there isn't many other noises in the room. Speak loudly enough so you don't have to turn up the amplifier on the microphone (which will, in turn, amplify the room noise)

What am I overlooking?

No need to make an MP3 of the WAV files unless you plan on e-mailing them or putting them on the web. Just export them as 44.1kHz, 16 bit WAV files and you can burn those to CD just fine.

You could probably plug the karaoke mic straight into the mic input of your soundcard, and use audacity. It won't be great quality, but it will be audible. Make sure you record in a quiet environment, away from the computer, speaking loudly and close to the mic(although, make sure it doesn't clip), and maybe a little light music will hide the noise you will bound to have using a karaoke mic and soundcard mic input. Also, it may help to buy/make(will tights round a coat hanger) a pop filter.