Some thoughts on my songs?

MusicBernd

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this forum, so I'll introduce myself; I'm Bernd, 24 years old living near Vienna (Austria, not a native english speaker, so excuse a few mistakes), playing piano and guitar and - guess what - writing songs. I've done much writing the past two years and I somehow felt that I have to do something out of it, so I went on and did some arrangment works, got a sequencer, VST effects, mic and amp and made at least lo-fi recordings of my songs.

As many of you may have experienced too, it's not that easy to mix it properly and get all the instruments in the stereo image that you want. So please take into account, that I am a newbie to mixing and don't have very good studio monitors.

For the moment I have 2 songs uploaded on myspace with more coming in the near future. I'll say a few words about each of them:

Memories And Dreams
Don't expect much from the production or the mix, this one was a quick and dirty "get it on your computer" recording with some weird effects on voice and piano. A better version is in the works. It's a sad song and some of the lyrics have changed since I recorded that version. However, the lyrics on this have a very special meaning to me.

We'll Have The Time
This is just about... whatever, I don't know. It's cold here in Austria and the snow is falling down and I was dreaming of a warm summer's day, where you can take a walk with whoever you like and wherever you like. I tried a bit more things in this mix and compared to my first tries on that song it sounds quite okay. What I'm gonna change is the fact, that I only recorded a small portion of each instrument (mainly guitars) and looped them which give's it a "looped" feeling that I don't like. I'll put more variations on it. This is also the first time I tried doing background vocals, though it would sound so much better if there were other voice colors in there.

You can listen to both songs on myspace.com/berndmusic!