Some few questions regarding recording setup

Klagen

Hey everyone,
im new to Homerecording.com, this is my 2nd post in fact. definitely gonna be using this website more :)

I've been producing (Read: Attempting to make hiphop beats) for about a year now, and its going pretty decent i'd say. My girlfriend is really into singing, so my friend, my girlfriend and I started a little "band" if you can call it that.

Our setup right now is:

Cakewalk A-500PRO midi keyboard
Blue Bird Mic
2 headphones (1 expensive and 1 cheap pair)
An arsenal of guitars
Lexicon Alpha audio interface and a preamp to go with it (Tube MP I believe its called, mainly cause the audio interface does not have phantom power in it, the preamp supplies this.)

Getting a pair of monitors soon too, considering the KrK rokits, I heard those to be fairly good for the price

now the question is:
What should we get after I buy the monitors. Im considering a new audio interface, but i'd love some opinions, maybe some ideas as to what specific item to get within a reasonable price.

I've borrowed a reflection filter from my school just to test it out, and im considering getting one myself (can get 1 for $200 or so, its not too bad) but something I was just wondering. My microphone is cardiod, would a reflection filter even make a difference theoriticly? I mean, its not picking up any sound from behind anyway...might just be me being stupid :P

and last, i just wanted some comments on the place we've been doing our recording.
https://img249.imageshack.us/i/micposition.jpg/

The red lines are carpets, which is hung from the wall (Sort of like drapes). theres 2 carpets hanging at the same spot, so that its more thick.
The black dot is the vocalist and the blue dot is the microphone.
My friend told me this was the best way to record in a non treated room (I cant do any treatment to this apartment unfortunately :/)

Thanks a ton for the replies :)
Klagen

Hey guys,
Thanks for the replies.