Solid Pedal For Leads

poo

Hey guys,

Once again i'm lost.
I've been using a Traynor YCV 80 tube combo gigging for the past 6 or 7 months. I particulary do not fashion it's lead channel. I've tweaked and tweaked at it and my leads just arent shaped for intelligibility. (My lead playing could also use a little work..)

Besides the fact, do you guys have an advice or pedals that offer great lead tone? I just want to see im a general consensus whats out there thats worth lookin at!

thanks and peace!

Most guys who have this problem seem to use way too much distortion (IMHO).

At a rehearsal volume it's fine to wind it up a bit, but once you're at gig volume, the additional volume will definately give you more 'sound' and if you use the same distortion setting it's gonna sound thin and with no definition.

foo

You're definatly right onthatone.
Last set I backed down on the gain, and voila, the tone cleaned up quite a bit. I'm just a stupid idiot.

poo said:
You're definatly right onthatone.
Last set I backed down on the gain, and voila, the tone cleaned up quite a bit. I'm just a stupid idiot.

nah, if you were a stupid idiot, you would have told foo he is a stupid idiot.

Try adding a compressor to the front of your chain. It will help a little with note inconsistencies (level, not pitch... hehe) and help with tone depending on how you set it up.

so how would the compressor fit in the chain?
Would i need a preamp before running into the compressor?
is a pedal compressor different than a rackmount for this purpose?

HEY POO......................

What works for me is simple, and cheap.

i use a Boss DS-1 pedal ($35) on the front side of my mesa boogie.

i set the boogie for a fairly crunchy rhythm sound......
then drive the output all the way, tone about 11:00, and drive about 12:00..........

then it thickens it up a bit.......

the trick is getting the noise level down, without loosing too much gain.........

the pedal allows you to clean up the amp........