Solenksis SV-315 Compressor

ste20man

Hi all.

I'm still a noob to home recording so I'd like to ask a question if that's ok.

I've just got a Solenksis SV-315 Compressor and the read-out (the box on the left) has values going from -50 to 0db.

The thing I don't understand is that the values go both horizontal and vertical. Why are there 2 sets of numbers (horizontal and vertical) ?

I could be missing something really obvious but for me it is a really hard compressor to get a grip of.

I'd appreciate any help, the manual is below.

http://www.sonalksis.com/downloads/user_guides/SV-315Mk2 Compressor.pdf

Thanks, Ste.

Stick with it.
I know it's weird at first, but when you understand a compressor, that kind of readout can be incredibly helpful.

The vertical scale shows the output level, (volume after compression) and the horizontal shows input level (before compression).

When there's no compression, this is the same thing, so the signal will show like it would on a vu (if it's a real time display), except it'll go diagonally if that makes sense.
-40 = -40
-15 = -15
-10 = -10.
etc

The point of this is to give you a visual representation of your threshold and ratio when you set them, and your reduction amount.

The first picture in the manual shows a threshold of -30db and i can tell that because that's the point on the graph where the direct correlation breaks.
Anything above that threshold is reduced by the ratio.

You can tell it's a 2:1 ratio because where the signal reads -10db on the horizontal input axis (20db over the threshold), it actually reads -20 on the vertical output axis (10b over the threshold).

For every 2db over, it's been reduced by 1.
-40 = -40
-30 = -30
but above the threshold
-20 = -10
0 = -15
etc.

Think that's right.

Btw. i know the threshold says -23.8 on the dial, but having the knee set at 7db softens the transition and effectively extends the threshold a bit.

Last edited:
Hi steinamaroo.