Snare sound

sketterman

Hello all,

Some of you may have spotted me in other areas here asking noob questions, and I've got another one right here :-)

For those who are reading as my first post, yes, I am VERY new to home recording, and I am the drummer in a band that a buddy of mine are forming.

Not having huge amounts of cash, I bought the Audix Fusion 7 mic kit, and with those mics, I can get a pretty nice kick sound, and a decent tom sound as well, but I cant seem to get anything with my snare that I like. I'm using a 14x5.5 pork pie piglite snare, it still has the factory heads on it (3+ years old now) but I never changed them because it sounds amazing live. My room is not bad acoustically either.

I'm wondering how much different (better) a sound I can achieve by changing out the head? Would keeping the same head but using a 57 make a world of difference? I'm not using any preamps, only a mackie 1604 vlz pro, then into a tascam MTR.

Please have a quick listen to the first track that plays at this link:

www.myspace.com/friendsoffoes09

What you are hearing is the latest recording I did using the equipment listed above. I dont think its a TERRIBLE snare sound, but its nothing exciting by any stretch.

Would it be worth it to upgrade the heads on the snare or get a better snare mic or both? I've tried mic'ing the bottom head as well, which made the snare track louder overall, but not better, in fact, the bottom snare mic sounded HORRIBLE. I'm gonna do a search here for micing the bottom snare head, but in the meantime, any advice from some fellow drummers? Thanks gents.

If you say it sounds good live, it should sound good recorded. I'm not familiar with the mic you say you're using, but a 57 should be fine. But, I don't know, a 3 year old factory head????

As far as micing the bottom head is concerned, I've never needed to even try it. But I know that if you do, you have to flip the polarity on the bottom mic.