snare drum tuning

jmh8605

i'm not going to pretend like i know anything about drums. I'm a guitarist/bassist that has a cheap ludwig set. I just put new heads on to replace the originals (i know enough to know that those heads suck). I put coated ambassadors batters on toms and snare and an a new snare side hazy ambassador. i will admit i am not a good tuner of drums, but my snare sounds horrible. The toms are fine. It has this very wierd ring and just sound flat and has no attack. Did i just put a bad head combo on the snare or do i just need to keep tuning. i even have moongel on the snare and its still weird. Any help would be appreciated.

How tight are the heads?
What snare drum is it?

I normally tune the bottom head pretty tight. About a full step above the top head. You did pick a head that tends to be pretty ringy if it isn't tuned perfectly. Just make sure that all the lugs are at the same tension.

Generally, the Ambassador heads are pretty decent. I've used them for many years, though I haven't actually tried the hazy snare bottom head myself, I have read about a number of guys who do like it (hehe... though, I also found an incredibly negative review of them from one customer on zzounds who put the snare head on the batter side and was complaining about the dents his sticks were making on the head! What a genius! ;) )

So chances are, the troubles you are experiencing have more to do with the tuning, or possibly the drum itself.

You may find this link helpful. It's probably the most detailed explanation of drum tuning I've seen.

The Drum Tuning Bible: http://home.earthlink.net/~prof.sound/

Good luck!
Tom

the snare is a ludwig 6.5 x 14 wood snare, it's tuned fairly tight. i don't know why because i like a more woody kind of snare with good attack, rather than a piccolo sort of high crack, if you know what i mean. do you have any suggestions for less ringy heads?