SMPTE Dang it

guitarfreak12

Ok, I've read about smpte till I'm blue. Now how do I apply it? I use Audition 2.0. I am going to record a wedding soon. Here's the problem

I'll have the digital video camera in a separate place than the mixer, say I start recording the video, then the mics picking up the audio are stand alone. Once I get the video onto the computer, what then, how do I sync up the audio and video. Do I create a smpte track before recording audio? And if so, how? Please be very specific if you can in you answer, I am new to smpte.

Is your video camera able to sync to smpte?
Can your recorder sync to smpte?

If you don't have smpte I/O on both the audio recorder and the video recorder, you can't use it. You will have to sync it up manually.

so you're saying that you're recording video on a camera, and recording audio on a separate device? what is that device? Audition?

what I would do is run all the mics to the mixer and then out the main outs of the mixer into the audio in of the camera. It'd be the easiest way and both audio and video will be together.

Otherwise you'll need to slate it somehow. You ever seen behind the scenes of film making when they use markers and say "Scene 1 take 12...marker." Then they snap the arm shut of the marker? This provides both a visual and aural cue for post production because they are usually recording audio on a separate device than the video. So then when they have to line things up, they just look for that transient.
That'll be the only way you can do it I think. Just press record on camera and the audio recorder then clap your hands together in front of the camera.

I do weddings regularly. I typically do a 2- or 3-camera shoot using regular miniDV and tapping audio off the inserts or aux sends of a mixer into a laptop running Audition (if I need more than two tracks) or Sound Forge (if there are only two tracks to get). I then edit and mix all the video and audio together back at the ranch using Vegas.