SM58 to Tascam US-100 to PC-- excessive static hiss noise etc

Faustainhead

Hi.
I'm very new to all this.
Bought an old Sure SM58 Mic and Tascam US-100(USB) to hook it up to my PC. How disappointed I was to find the noise coming through my headphones when the Mic was connected. And it increased much more when I touched the mic. All the cables I'm using are new. I don't have input or output values set very high, I've tried different settings but the electric hiss continues. Is it a bad Mic?Is it an earth problem? I notice there is a small "signal GND" knob on my Tascam. What do I do with it? And is that where the problem stems? Please help.

Well, the first thing you want to do is determine the cause of the hiss; because it doesn't sound like you're too sure (even when you touch the mic, which causes more hiss.)

Here are some things that I'd do to be sure that it is the microphone:

1) Unplug the mic. - Is there still hiss in your headphones? (Possibility, its your headphones or Tascam itself.)

2a) Plug the mic in, turn the gain knob for the mic all the way down... is there hiss? (If yes, you can lean more towards headphones or Tascam.)
2b) Turn the knob up until you hear the hiss. (Note the dial location.)

3a) Record some sample words into your DAW, replay thru the TASCAM... Is there any hiss in the recorded audio? (Yes? Mic/Tascam!)
3b) Play the same sample thru your computer speakers. If there is no hiss then you can rule out the tascam and mic; as it's definitely the headphones.

The most likely suspect is a cheap cord. You need a high quality cord on your microphone and on any guitar you play on stage. A bad cord can make any mic sound bad. Also if you are recording the SM58 is probably not the best mic to record with depending on what you are trying to do with it.

I was just doing this on a UX2.
Unplug the mic and at 75% there was no hiss, at 100% volume/gain -55db hss. This seems to be normal for a lot of interface/ consumer gear, from what I read.