Sm57's with Toms

They work just fine, especially when your overheads are picking up the toms when placed well...the initial thwack! you get from close mic'ng toms and more acurate panning are the benefits, if thats important to you.

as a drummer, I tend to lean towards overkill (11 mics on drums at times) and have used 57's on toms very effectively. I've also not used tom mics and was happy as well...so if its a matter of budget or if you already own enough 57's, I'd have no problem going with them.

on the other hand, if you have a "great sounding room" and have the cash, then of course there are other options like the senn. 421's, audix d2's, etc....I have been using Sp B-1's ($79.00) on toms with real nice results. the bleed I edit out and use fades in my DAW. the LD B-1 mic does pick up a bigger attack and for the same price as a 57 its hard to pass up! ....so thats where I'm at now, but 57's served me well for a long time especially in a not so great sounding room.

good luck

Bobalou - You use B1's on all your toms?

Sounds like a good deal for the price!
And also -- what drums are you playing?
[So I can get an idea of whether or not they'll sound OK on my Birch drums...]

Thanks,
Justin

My drummer has an Audix D4 mounted inside each of his toms, and a D1 inside the snare.

I use ATM25 on kick and toms, was using SM57 on snare but still experimenting on this one. Beyer M201 is real nice on snare, and I just acquired an Audix D4 to try on snare for a bit, fat rock snare sound. The Audio Technica ATM23HE is supposed to be real sweet on snare, also.

I'm looking at dynamics that will do double duty between drum and guitar cabs, which is why I picked up the D4.

Drummer4Life05 said:
Bobalou - You use B1's on all your toms?

Sounds like a good deal for the price!
And also -- what drums are you playing?
[So I can get an idea of whether or not they'll sound OK on my Birch drums...]

Thanks,
Justin

Justin,