Singing Criticism Needed

Aidyn

I know this isn't the best site for this but I do know that you guys are honest and give good advice and criticism so I hope you don't mind if I ask this here.

I have been playing guitar for a few years now and just recently got some stuff for recording music. It's pretty inexpensive gear but it seems to work fine. The only problem is that I record something and listen to it and I really can't stand my voice and it seems kind of pitchy and like a bad voice for music. My parent and close friends say it's good but they wouldn't want to hurt my feelings.

So give it to me straight, what do you think?

Sorry about that hissy noise in the recording. It came in after I uploaded and leave the recording criticism for another time since I haven't really figured out what I'm doing yet and I just recorded the vocals and guitar at the same time and just exported it as it was.

Not bad. It sounds like you might be holding back a little though. Just relax and let your singing flow.

You might get more comments by posting in the songwriting or mp3 mixing forums.

...You have good pitch and a good tone to your voice, so the battle is half-won :).

Like Dani said, you need to 'let the air flow' more and take a few more chances in your singing, but you have the basics of what could become a very nice singing voice.

Go in and belt one out, just for the heck of it, to see how it sounds.

Keep at it,
C.

I thought it was actually very good! Nice job.

I have a couple questions for ya:

1. What recording gear did you use?
2. Did you record the guitar and vocals at the same time or separately?
3. What guitar do you have?

Nice job man. ;)

Thanks for the help everyone.

Concerning how it sounds like I am holding back, that may be partly to do with the fact that I am still trying to get comfortable recording. That may sound silly but for some reason I get kind of nervous when I record. I'll work on that though.