Simple test: Condenser vs. Dynamic

lifelyrics

Training wheels on
Hi all,

There seems to be much discussion about this, so I decided to do a little test. Mind you, this is on bargain basement products, but you can get an idea of the difference if you listen to the linked clips.

Hubby brought home a MXL MARK condenser mic they use at his work, to compare with the Sennheiser E835 I have been using for many years for the basic stuff we've done.

So, we conducted the test with a song my son’s friend, Sabrina, wrote and sang for their high school graduation. She was at our house rehearsing with Lukas, and agreed to help us out with the test.

We used the TASCAM DP004, at the same input setting for each sample. I know, it's basic, way simple stuff, but I think there are a lot of people out there who are looking for basic, entry level info and you can't test-drive microphones.

My husband thought the results were convincing enough that he let me purchase an entry level condenser mic for my little recording projects! (MXL V63M)

Just click on the first two “songs” in this link:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=960087

What do you think?

I didn't listen, but I will tell you this:
The V63M has three layers of mesh in the headbasket.
With so many layer, the sound is affected.
If he or you are so inclined, with a little patience and a couple of simple tools, such as a very small jewelers flathead screwdriver and needlenose pliers, the inner mesh can be pulled out. The mic sounds SO much clearer without that mesh.

Just know, it is put there to protect the diaphragm, so....you have to make sure to protect it by using a pop-filter.

Here's a before and after picture of the mod:

V63M%20Grill_Pre-Post.JPG

In any case, congratulations on the new mic......enjoy!

Aw, Thanks for that!