Signal Flow Question!

dheh250

Alright I'm very new to this stuff so please bare with me...

So I'm recording a drum set with 7 different mic's and the rest of my band from a home studio i'm making.

I need help understanding if this is the best thing to do:

8 drum mics into -> Allen-&-Heath-ZED24-Mixer (are the pre-amps good?) -> Compressor? (or is that not needed?) -> Apogee Duet -> Mac/Logic Express 9

I want to avoid mixing in the computer because I prefer mixing with the hands-on approach with the knobs and all.

Thanks for your time guys

I don't know very much about signal flow so my main question was if it was logical or efficient to do what i listed. I havn't bought any of the items I listed other than the drum mic's yet so just making sure i'm making the right purchase.

You would be better off recording the individual mics instead of a mix of the drums. Any small mistake you make mixing the drums can not be undone later if you mix it on the board on the way in.

If you get an interface with 16 in's and out's, then you can record everything separately and bring the sepearate tracks out to all the channels of the mixing board and mix with it if you really want to. That's the best of both worlds.

I don't know very much about signal flow so my main question was if it was logical or efficient to do what i listed. I havn't bought any of the items I listed other than the drum mic's yet so just making sure i'm making the right purchase.

ah! if i were you i'd buy a firestudio and run it into reaper and call it good. I know you said you'd rather have a hardware mixer, and i've been there, but you'll get over it pretty quickly i think.

you'll save a ton of money this way and be using a WAY better daw.

If you get an interface with 16 in's and out's, then you can record everything separately and bring the sepearate tracks out to all the channels of the mixing board and mix with it if you really want to.