Shure PGDMK4 Package

velvetomatoe

Hey everyone, I'm just getting into recording drums. I have a home studio and I'm using Adobe Audition 1.5, an M-Audio Delta 1010Lt and a Yamaha Mixer. I was looking into purchasing this for doing some drum recording in addition to using some ADK Condensers as overheads. The package includes a Shure PG52, and 3 PG56 mics. Here's the link to it on Shure's webpage The package runs about $250-$300. I was wondering if this is a good deal to get a nice sound for drums. I'm not looking to spend $800 right now as I realize I will spend more than that for high quality mics (aka the Beta 52 among others) in the future when I can afford it. Right now what I'm looking for is a decent quality sound that won't clip/distort (which is my main problem with my current mic situation) Any opinions on this would be greatly considered and appreciated. Thanks in advance.

~Kevin~

why buy double?? (pg52 and then beta52)

whats your current set up?? mics shouldnt clip/distort if you use them well

Right now it's pretty minimal. I have an ADK A-51 Type V, an ADK SC-1, and an Audio Technica AE4100. I was looking around the Shure site a bit more and I think I might just spring the extra few bucks and go with the DMK57-52 kit. It seems more practical since I want to eventually buy the Beta 52, and you can never have enough SM57's. Any thoughts?

The drummer in my band bought the DMK57-52 kit. He got it from Guitar Center for about $300. We had a connection there who would give us deals at cost (he'd even show us on the computer how low he could go). For $300, I think it's an excellent deal. Three brand new 57s alone at retail would cost nearly that much.