Should I take online recording classes or learn on my own?

tswion

Hi, I'm fresh meat to this forum and I didn't have a clue where to post this question.
I've been playing music for nearly six years now and want to start to build a home recording studio to start recording my and my friends music. I'm pretty clear on the equipment I will need, but my real question is how serious I am going to be with this. I have a lot of stored ambition that is fueled by the possibility of creating great music with great people in my area. I want to know if taking online courses from, say, Audio Institute of America, would be worth the time and money. Is there anyone out there with advice or, even better, a testimonial?

Thanks in advance.

Well, why not try a combination of both ? You can find so much good info on this forum. I would go so far as to say that everything you need to know about recording can be found here ~ if you're prepared for alot of searching, reading, wading through shit and witty comments, arguments and 'differences of opinion' and some sometimes dubious attitudes, weird humour and lots of off topic sidetracking.
Know that there is also a fairly steep learning curve whichever route you take and whatever happens, most of it will be you on your own. Best way to learn in my opinion, trial and error. Which is not to knock an on line course. It has it's place and use.

Are you trying to say that we don't always keep strictly on-topic there GT???

Surely not... :laughings:

How much are your online courses OP? That would be a factor...

I think if I was getting "real" tuition, I'd probably want it offline, rather than online, but it depends how much they cost to some extent...

Guitar Center has holds a series of four free home recording workshops on Saturdays at 10am. They're free and are a great way to get an intro to home recording.