Should I spend the money?

Ledmech

Hello all, I've been visiting these forums for about 2 months now and just registered today.

Since I started coming here I decided to learn how to play the guitar because I have heard some really great music from people in this forum. Personally, I think its much better than 99% of the crap thats played on the radio.

I've been playing for about a month now and thought I would record something. I was just wondering if some of you guys would take a listen and see if I should spend the money to get some decent equipment to make a home studio. Or just give up all together. :(

PLEASE keep in mind that this is done on a computer mic!
(and a demo version of Acid so I could make a couple tracks....)

www.isfswat.cjb.net

I couldn't get your website to open, but I can answer your question without hearing your music.

If you have ideas you'd like to record, it's worth it. The trick is deciding what level of equipment you need. If you are recording through a computer mic, it might be worth getting a decent mic and preamp. There are quite a few that are pretty reasonably priced. You could get a good mic, like a Shure SM57 or Studio Projects B1 for about $80, and a preamp like the M Audio Audio Buddy for about $79.

Inexpensive software is available, too. N-Tracks is very popular and you could start for free or register it for $35.

If you have a soundcard that plays Soundfonts, like a Soundblaster Live or Audigy, you can download lots of free sounds to use.

I find that the more you have to work with, the more your creativity is stimulated. Have fun and experiment.

Well I hear it man. Exactly what Dan said too....Having been a musician for quite some time, if you enjoy it, do it.