Should I buy these?

sparkmonkey

A friend of mine is selling his studio and I can pick up most of his gear for what sounds like a good price Let me know what you think:

1- Peavey 520i with mic stand
2- Shure 849's
1- 50 ft snake
2- sm57's
1- aphex 107 dual mic pre
1- studio projects C-1
2- mic stands and a cable for each microphone

All of this at the incredibly low price of $550

Is this Good? He takes wonderful care of his stuff. I am very new at this. My current equipment:

2- Nakamichi cm300
1- MXL V93
Presonus Blue Tube
AKAI DPS12i

I have the money available to upgrade equipment. Is this my best option?

It is a good bargain IF you need all those mics. Considering you only have three now (assumin cm300s are mics), is there a good reason you suddenly want six more? Food for thought.

I want to learn to record my full band including drums. Plus, who doesn't like the thought of having more microphones? I've been reading the big thread nightly and I want more to experiment with. The value is what I am more concerned with. If it's a good deal I'm thinking I won't have to buy another microphone for a little while at least. Is that Aphex 107 a nice pre-amp?

Thank you for your responses!

Tyler

Well let's see; if you had to buy all that new:

2 SM57's $140
1 SPC3 $199
1 Aphex 107 Couldn't find a price on that model, but a 108 is $199
1 520i $219

Those are the goodies, so what's left, a couple mic stands a snake and some cables? What kind of cables? Without knowing, I'd go... say $150 on the lot, and thats generous.

Thats over $900 if you were to buy it all. The big ticket items are of course the mics and the pre, and thats around $750.
The mics alone are worth what he's asking if they are in MINT condition. Your mic supply seems a little bare, so, I'd go for it! It's a bargain!!

sparkmonkey said:
If it's a good deal I'm thinking I won't have to buy another microphone for a little while at least.

Famous last words. :)