Setting up my recording studio

deejuks2

I apologize if i post this in the wrong section, as this is going to get pretty in-depth; but i AM a NooB so i figured i'd come here... I am going to explain my plans, id appreciate if someone could just butt-in and stop me if i am doing something terribly wrong.

I am currently building my small (15x25) jam room/recording studio. I have watched countless videos on youtube to see setups pertaining to Computer-to-mixing board-to-microphone relationships, but all anyone seems to be concerned with is recording MIDI and having 1 microphone for rapping (see:frustrated)

I have purchased a Behringer Xynyx 22-input USB mixing board. I assume i do NOT need to buy a preamp now, because they are built into the board, correct? I assume i am just going to connect the mixing board to the computers USB port.

Now i am not interested in having a MIDI keyboard, I am planning on buying half a dozen sm57's to mic my drum kit, organ, and guitar amps, and getting a decent condenser mic for vocals. when i have my shure mics plugged into my board, and i flip on phantom power for the condenser mic, will it ruin my sm57s?

Do i need a soundcard if i am using a mixing board? what the hell is firewire? Is my mixing board considered my "audio interface"?

I have more questions but ill address them later

You are squarely on the right track. Answers to your questions (which are refreshingly specific :), BTW!):

Correct, Zenyx mixers have built in pre-amps on the mic channels. Plenty of folks on here will say that someday you may want "Better" pre-amps, but I have a Xenyx mixer, too, and have yet to outgrow those preamps