Semihemispherical frets

Roybot

I refretted this SG and it was very time consuming to shape each fret by hand. Does anyone here have any experience or tips about performing a semihemispherical fret job? It would be great if you could describe what tools you use and any techniques you've found helpful for consistency and speed.

Thanks!

RoyBot

index.cfm

index.cfm

index.cfm

index.cfm

Last edited:
Excuse me, but a semihemisphere is basically half a globe or ball, whereas a fret has a semiconical shape...

Wow!

I have never heard of this technique. But I love it! Obviously I have no experience with this, BUT, One place to go to for great information on the tools is Stewart MacDonald. They may even have feature on their website. They have great information and will certainly be able to help you. www.stewmac.com. Good Luck!

You know, RobRoy, you are right!

And yeah, the ends of the frets ARE hard to see. Cool idea, tho.

Hey thanks Stevieb! Yeah I think it's cool too. I'm going to do a strat next and then a PRS but I don't want it to take as long as the SG did. Hopefully some experienced folks will chime in with some tips. Man, I love the way the SG turned out...it was my very first refret!

God I hate frets with ends like that. They feel bumpy to me. Ick.