Secondary Harddrive Recommendations

Blackwiz

Okay, people have told me that I may need to think about getting an additional harddrive. What are recommendations for cheap priced harddrives and what are size recommendations? Im looking to spend no more than maybe $200.

Also, how would the harddrive be used? As additional storage or, I did hear someone say something about a harddrive for VST's.

Someone help me out.

Thanks

Newbie Here......for now.

I think people generally refer to having a separate hard drive for audio in regard to the actual access and writing of digital audio information to/from the disk. So, you would have your programs, plugins, operating system, etc., installed on your main hard disk, but then you would set up your software to read and write audio from a secondary hard drive, so that you are using that disk solely for audio access. Your main OS / Programs hard disk is already bombarded with reads/writes from all those other things, so it can slow down your recroding software, introduce clicks and pops, etc., if you can't get access to the space you need in realtime.

As for suggestions, I have had decent luck with Western Digital and Maxtor drives before. You can get a good external for well under 200 these days, although I would recommend it be firewire if at all possible - mine is USB and it works fine, but I've read here from a number of people that USB has had its problems (YMMV tho).

Here is a search on newegg.com for all external hard drives that are 7200rpm and have USB 2.0 & IEEE 1394 (firewire) connections:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...35507776+1035907851&name=USB+2.0+/+IEEE+1394a