Seasoned Musician needs home recording direction

rkearns10

Hey Everyone!

This is my first post on the boards and I wanted to give you all a shout and give you some background on where I'm currently at:

I'm a serious musician who's played in a few bands and jammed and all that. I play brass instruments, percussion, and guitar, with my main focus on lead electric guitar. The Band I'm currently in has played some decent gigs around Buffalo, NY and we recently had a nice Gig opening at "Thursday in The Square" for Fitz and the Tantrums/Grace Potter and The Nocturnals.

Having said that, the direction of the band I'm in isn't really what I want to do, and I want to setup a home recording spot where I can basically put together a nice EP of my own work. I want to play rock, blues, indie, psychedelic kind of stuff. Another band member of mine recently purchased a Mac desktop, cheap pre-amp, and Logic Pro software for himself. I did some work with him on this software and this computer, and it seemed to work out pretty well with relative ease of production and computer competency (though expensive).

I want the type of computer software similar or identical to logic that will help me build songs from the ground up, with all those kinds of gadgets and tools and sounds available to really be creative, without having to worry about a computer crashing or sub-par software. I have electric and acoustic guitars, and would like to either plug them straight into the software and create different effects or distortions, and also record them externally with a microphone to get my real vintage tone I have as well. Also, I want to be able to record vocals, and possibly drums as well. Logic and/or any other potential software would provide other sampled instruments available that I could use beyond these basic ingredients.

So here I stand:
I have guitars, drums, and a voice.

I want: To record my own EP.