SCSI questions - hardware sampler

normington

Hi,
I'm new to the sampling game, and I've decided to get myself a hardware sampler to have a mess about with. I'm being offered an E-mu ESI 32 at a good price, so I think I'll probably go for that. My questions are about storing samples.

I'm presuming that the 1.44MB provided by the floppy drive in the sampler isn't going to be great nowadays - am I correct in thinking that? If so, how much space am I going to need to do some modest experimental sampling?

I think the SCSI connection on the sampler can be used to my advantage. To utilise this, I figure I'm going to have to do one of the following options:
  1. Get an SCSI hard drive for the sampler to use. But then how do I get stuff onto the hard drive - I can't connect SCSI to the PC, I'd have to get another adapter. Costs here mount up etc.
  2. Get an SCSI Zip drive, which is what the previous owner has been doing. However, I then have the problem of interfacing between Zip and the PC. Again, the costs mount up.
  3. Get an SCSI optical drive, and connect that up to the sampler. This way I guess I can write CDs using my normal PC optical drive, and then throw the disc into the sampler's SCSI optical drive?
What are the advantages/disadvantages of each storage medium, what is the cheapest way, what is the most efficient?

Thanks,

Good sampler to start on, not nearly as elegant and deep as the software ones but sounds good, good features and if you can get good with that thing, you will easily master more advanced samplers. It is sometimes good to be limited since it forces you to work efficiently.. Anyway

Hi,
I'm presuming that the 1.44MB provided by the floppy drive in the sampler isn't going to be great nowadays - am I correct in thinking that? If so, how much space am I going to need to do some modest experimental sampling?