sblive platinum

tazkatraz

im a hiphop producer and i want to record into my computer where can i get the sblive platinum card? i heard its the best for the price range im interested which is around 200

The SBLive Platinum is not a bad card, but only gives you 2 channels of input on the audio side. You will need an additional mixer if you are going to need more channels than that. I have it and it was okay when I first got it. But the more I record and the more equipment I use it becomes more and more limiting at times. Having the live drive is kinda convenient with the midi ports in the front. I would suggest to do a search on this bbs on soundcards and see what other people have to say about soundcards, save up little more money and get a more robust soundcard.
If you use the S/PDIF then go ahead and get the platinum, if not save a couple of bucks and get just the SBLive if you can't hold out until you get a better card...
Good Luck!

Vice

Hi Tazkatrax.

I wouldn't recommend a SBlive Platinum. In short I purchased one about ten months ago and had nothing but problems. It gave me alot of hum and loud buzzing. STAY WELL CLEAR OF ANYTHING MADE BY CREATIVE. The customer support is non existent.

I bought an M Audio Delta 66 and have been very pleased with it. Unfortunately this may be a bit pricey. It was worth every penny though. Have a look at the Delta 44. This might be cheaper.

Creative products are mainly made for video games and the odd tinker around. Recording Cards like Delta and Darla are specially designed for audio recording. These cards are shielded from electronic interferences like earth leakage and transmission interference from radio, television and other sources.

Good luck.

Mark
:)