SB Live?? Hard Disk Recording?

Strummer

Hi,

I am a guitar player and total newbie to the home recording world... Could someone help me with this: what do you think of the SB Live in terms of recording quality, inputs, etc. Can I plug my guitar straight into the board and then edit the wave in Sound Forge? Or can I connect it with the Line Out of my Boss FX pedal/Marshall setup?

The problem is, here in Brazil these professional sound cards are VERY expensive and just want a Lo-Fi thing, maybe add some guitar parts to songs I make in Sonic Foundry ACID. So the SB Live is all I can buy at the moment.

Also, another question. What do you think of USB solutions like Roland U-8 and Tascam US-428? Would they work with the SB Live?

Regards,

Strummer

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>I am a guitar player and total newbie to the home recording world... Could someone help me with this: what do you think of the SB Live in terms of recording quality, inputs, etc. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's pretty OK for the price.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Can I plug my guitar straight into the board and then edit the wave in Sound Forge? Or can I connect it with the Line Out of my Boss FX pedal/Marshall setup?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not the guitar straight in -- you need a line level signal. The Line Out will work, but might not sound very good. DO you have any mics and a mixer or mic preamp?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Also, another question. What do you think of USB solutions like Roland U-8 and Tascam US-428? Would they work with the SB Live?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's likely you can... I don't know for sure...

-AlChuck

So the SB Live comes with the right inputs on board or should I get this Live Drive 2?
I don´t know this S/PDIF thing, is it the "optical" connection? The guitar jack is called the 1/4" right?