Sampler and sound module or all in one?

Bobsleigh

I've been recording and mixing on a PC for five years, but I am totally new to MIDI, synths and stuff. (believe it or not)

Now I'm looking for a gadget to hook up to my cheap MIDI master keyboard, which will allow me to do the following in a live performance:

- Import my own samples of organs, synth, pianos and strings, and play them in pitch according to the notes i hit on the MIDI master.

- Playback drum loops

Do I need both a sound module (for the instruments) and a sampler for the loops? Or are there units that can do both?

We're as usual on a VERY tight band budget. Any suggestions for gear or comments?

Thanx!

- Bobsleigh

Any professional sampler should be able to do both.

Is there any special sampler you are looking into?

Sorry, I don't know anything. In fact I knew so little I though "What? The electribe isn't a sampler", but a quick check on the Korg site showed me that in fact there are three different Electribes, one which does sampling! :)

Now, that Electribe rhythm sampling machine looks rather cool, but I'm not sure it does what you want. It's called a "rhythm sampler" because it is aimed at making weird modifications to rhythms. It seems to be able to work as a normal sampler too (just as the Akai MPC is ment to be a sampling drum machine/sequencer but can work as a normal sampler too), but it's kinda hard to tell from the specs, and one complaint in the reviews on zzounds said that it was hard to do a bassline...

I so I guess you have to go to a music store and try it out. I think I will, it seems really cool.
The first and obvious drawback is that it seems to save it's data on smartmedia, which is kinda expensive.