Sample rate?

Sifunkle

Feel free to scroll to the last paragraph for the main point of this OP, otherwise have fun with my ramblings :)

Forgive me if I haven't thoroughly sifted through other threads, but I typed this up in the "Newbie" forum before deciding it was better suited here. Which should tell you something about the kinda stupid question to expect ;) And sorry if it's not strictly about mastering per se.

Before I'd done much research, I used to just think 'Well I'm aiming to make demo CDs, so I'll just stick to 16 bit and 44.1 kHz for everything, the whole way from guitar to discman'.

Now that I'm (very) slightly more educated, I realise that was probably a silly idea, so I'm now planning to record everything in 24 bit depth. I'm still a bit confused about what sample rate to record at though.

I'd like to keep it fairly low so I don't chew through my hard drive (I'm a poor student), but I'd also like to have a shot at some basic (ie. amateurish) mastering, given that I won't afford (artistically or financially) professional mastering any time soon.

I understand that for mastering, I'll want to have a high sample rate. Would it be correct to assume that if I've recorded all my tracks in 44.1 kHz, there's no point bumping up to 96 for the track I'll attempt mastering on (as there's only 44.1 thousand samples per unit time, therefore extra samples will just be blank)? Or will that bump actually work, because the samples of all the different tracks will be timed ever-so-slightly differently to each other so that there's actually more than 44.1 kHz present in the mix?

If you want the question phrased simply, without all my pondering: Can I record my tracks at 44.1 kHz, mix, then bump up to 96 kHz for my finished mix, prior to mastering?

Thanks in advance,

Si

Uy yuy yuy. There are a few things to know here. I'll try my best to explain them