Rolling or rotating lifters and arms?

jviss

(Second in a series of stupid newbie tape questions):

Why don't tape deck lifters and tension arms have rotating contact surfaces?

Is it because of potential flutter issues?

Is it because of magnetization issues?

I think rotating contact surfaces would last much, much longer, and would be inherently more easily renewable, albeit more expensive to make.

However, as a hobbyist, I can easily rationalize the time and trouble of fabricating something if its a big improvement.

Thanks,

jv

Cost, I expect. The high-end decks - i.e. studio ones - tend to have rotating guides, the cheaper ones don't.

There are arguments both ways.

Tape gliding over a stationary surface produces scrape flutter, but tape gliding over a rolling surface with less than precision bearings can induce mechanical "noise" into the process too.

Also, I've read something about rolling surfaces being less effective as tape guiding instruments or potentially inducing more edge damage if the path isn't setup right because you have a sweeping surface as an edge guide rather than a stationary surface.

Also, depending on the transport, a stationary guide provides sme impedance which can be important.

So, yeah, it likely comes down to a cost issue, because it takes $$$ to do the rolling stuff right.