Roland VS880ex

JimmyofSND

Hey guys, I have a few questions but fist i'm going to explain my set up so you know what i am working with;

Recording:
Roland VS880ex (digi recorder)

Mics:
(2) Shure SM57's
(1) AKG Perception 100 w/crack and pop filter

Instruments:
ESP Viper 50
ESP Explorer 260
Peavey Bass (don't know what model)
Ibanez Bass (don't know what model)
I'm a guitarist don't much care for bass.

Amps:
(2) Line6 Spider II 212
Ampeg Bass Amp
An old Crate Bass Amp

I've recorded a demo with my band (minus the drums) and it worked well but i found that i had a lot of problems...

My first problem is that I know i need more stuff (pre-amps, mixers) for recording, i just dont' know what i need, if anyone could help me out i would appreciate it, tell me what kind of mixer to get or what kind of pre-amps to make it sound better...

My next problem is getting the tracks from the Roland to a computer...
Here's what i did;

I recorded vocals, 2 guitar parts and a bass part on 4 seperate tracks, then i plugged the Roland into the "mic input" on my computers sound card via RCA to 1/8 jack, then i loaded Adobe Audition and i had to press play on the Roland and record on Adobe Audition at the same time... so the tracks came up off time and i had to go back through and fix the timing and whatnot. My question is how do i get the recorded tracks on my computer, I know i need a sound card but what kind? and do i still have to press play and record at the same time or is there a feature that will just automatically start recording?

My last problem was when i normalized the tracks on Adobe Audition they sounded really loud at -0.5dB so i had to normalize them to -3dB for them to sound good and even then they still sounded to loud and put pressure on my computer speakers, i was wondering if it was cause i did a bad job of mixing or if its cause i didn't go through a mixer or what, if you know how to fix this problem please inform me.