Roland UA-30

Hector Burns

This is my first time posting a question. Is anybody out there using Roland's UA-30? I'm thinking about purchasing one. I've got a Tascam 424 Portastudio that I've been using for 10 years. All I want to do is mix it down to the hard drive on my laptop (the laptop is also dated: IBM Thinkpad 26ll, 366 Celeron processor, 64MG Ram). Is the UA-30 the way to go? Can it handle an analogue source?

i posted a Q about this around 6 months ago - you can look it up. The thing will handle a mono analog signal. It looked like it was an ok choice, I think one of the cheaper ways to go, though for $150 more you can get the Tascam USB product that is much more flexible.

Hi Adam. Thanks for your reply. I read several threads before I posted my message and I think I came across your post. I was under the impression that the Tascam USB unit was more for recording indivual tracks on the hard drive. All I want to do is mix down to the hard drive. All of the actual tracks will be on cassette. I want to run from the RCA jacks on the 4-track to the RCA jacks on the UA-30 and mix everything down to the hard drive. I basically just need a line in. Has anybody out there tried mixing down their 4-track using the UA-30 as the input device? If so, how were the results? I'm just afraid I'll buy the UA-30 and it won't do what I want it to. Thanks for your time.

sorry to misunderstand your post. if that is all you need, the ua-30 could be the way to go. also, check to see if your computer has the necessary usb driver. the ua-30 will only work with one or 2 different drivers.

UA-30 with ALi Chipset