Roland JX-3P

JamesFarquhar

Hey everyone I am really new to keyboard world and to the midi world also. So please bare with me. A friend of mine has an Old Roalnd JX-3P synth keyboard that was given to him. He is willing to to sell it to me for next to nothing. My question is would it be a good keyboard to start with ?
If anyone knows of any reasons why I should or shouldnt get this keyboard please feel free to let me know.

The sounds are classic and great. The MIDI is horrible (it was Roland's very first MIDI-fied keyboard). Programming it is easy if you understand basic subtractive synthesis.

I love the JX3P and wish I still had mine. Do a Google search and you'll find the manual online somewhere (can't remember where off hand).

If you like old skool analog synth sounds, have the patience to read the manual, and treat your gear well then get it. If not, get it and then sell it on Ebay (or sell it to me for your cost). Just be advised that the MIDI is very very basic and does in no way represent the full scope of what MIDI can do.

I remember trying out the JX-3P when it first came out, I really liked the bell tones it had from the factory presets. It was choosing between that and a KORG Poly-800 and dammit I chose the KORG... Hey let us know if you ever put that thing up for sale or bid. :)

I don't know what "next to nothing" means - but I would buy a JX3P for $100-$125 in the blink of an eye (more than that would depend on the shape, etc). It has classic sounds and is a good board to learn some sound design on.

Well next to nothing is $225 Canadian which is about $170 US. I have looked it over and it is in excellent shape still has the foot pedal and the stand for it.

Toorglick right now I have no understanding basic synth and very little knowledge of midi at this point.