rode ntg2 av shure sm7b background noise

john225

Hello , I am fairly new to recording narrations.
I use scarlett 2i2 3rd gen and a zoom h5 and I have 2 mics rode ntg2 and shure sm7b and a cloudlifter for shure mic.
I am not trying to produce studio quality profesional narrations but mostly stuff that is ok for youtube.

I just bought a shure because of all the youtubers podcasters claming it doesn't pick up much of the bacground noise which is sometime a problem in my place.

I use shure about 4" from my mouth as well as rode mic.
I can say that shure mic picks up a bit less of batckground noise then rode mic but not by a lot. maybe 20% improvement.
People who do reviews are claiming that it doesn't pick up barking dogs or even kids playing in the other room or construction noises , sirens etc.
Both of the mics pick them up .

I tried to position shure mic with the back of the mic facing towards the noise which helps a bit.
I tried to lower the gain which might be helping a bit.

I know how to fix the audio in daw to get rid of some of the noises but I am little bit disapointed or maybe I had too big expectations.
Also some youtubers are claiming that you don't have to treat your room with sm7b which isn't true .

Both rode and shure sounds equally bad in untreated rooms

Am I doing something wrong ? My room is treated but not soundproofed and those noises from the outside are a bit problem.
I could possibly return the sm7b and get something else

Thank you for your help.

Hello John and welcome. Sorry to tell you that yes, you are doing something a bit wrongly. Four inches is about three too many from a 7b* or indeed any dynamic mic ESPECIALLY if you have 'noises off' problems. These sorts of microphones do not have any special 'magic' that rejects external noise it is simple a function of the ration of the distance between the sound source and the noise. Thus you see rock stars practically eating mics!