Ringing in snare

mjau

Sorry is this has been covered...
I'm pretty new to recording drums, and am having a problem removing some ringing from a snare. It is a steel 14x5.5 yamaha from a stage custom set. I've replaced the top head with an Evans ST dry, and have that head tuned up pretty well (I think). The snare gets a decent initial transient pop, but the ringing sound afterwards is pretty ugly. I've tried tuning the bottom head a number of ways, but can't seem to get rid of it. I can compress some of that sound out, but I'd rather rely on proper snare setup.
What can be done? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...

tune it down a little, the most common tuneing mistake i see is people tuneing the snare too high.

then maby try some moon-gel.

And if that doesn't work then use Duct Tape on the bottom of the snare it may be ghetto but it works.

Why is everyone solutions on here duct tape or moongel. Oh my you can use other methods that won't make it ugly. My drums have no muting in them at all and they sound amazing.

maby you should go visit him in IL, and tune his kit for him.

and buy him a kit with heads just like yours

and teach him to play just like you do.

that would probably do it, no moon gel or nothing!

I say you use a moongel also. Try dropping the tuning of the top head lower than the bottom also, that tends to work the best for my snare. You get more of a slamming attack and punch it seems when you lower the top head.

I have to chime in here, cuz I've struggled with the same issue. I have a an old Ludwig steel snare and use the Evans ST dry head as well. Moon Gels are very effective, but feminine pads or panty liners cut to size work too. I like just two little halves placed at about 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock between the nearest lugs on either side. I use a cloudy resonant head, not the crystal clear variety, which helps.