Ribbon MXL R144 Microphone Preamp?

Geezerhorn

Hello,

I just bought a Ribbon R144 recording microphone. The owners manual says to NOT use a preamp with phantom power or I can damage the mic. Yet, every preamp I look at boasts of having phantom power. What affordable preamp do I use for this microphone? I want to record brass instruments.

Thanks,
Geezerhorn

Just turn phantom power off then plug in the mic.
If you want to be super safe, plug in a condenser mic first, turn off phantom power, and wait until there's absolutely no signal.
That will ensure that all power has been completely drained.

Most preamps / interfaces will have a switch for it.

And many preamps aren't quite strong enough for ribbons, so you might want to pick up
a Cloudlifter or Fethead pre-preamp (they provide an extra 20-25db of gain). These units
are powered by phantom power, but don't pass it along to the mic.

Thanks for the responses. As you might have noticed, I am a total noob at recording. I (try to) play trombone. I have been recording myself with a Zoom. It's okay, but just okay. Now I want to step up to a real mic, since I bought Band-In-A-Box 2013. The Ribbon mic was highly regarded on another forum where us brass players lurk. :) :) :) :)

So, I looked on The 'Zon and found the Cloudlifter listed for $149, which I presume is a reasonable price. I''m hoping I can cable my Ribbon mic into it and then the Cloudlifter directly into the soundcard on my PC? I have cabled the mic on my Zoom to a DAK mixer and on to my PC, so I know I can record on my PC.

Question: will I need a certain type of cable to go from the Cloudlifter directly to my PC? It's really difficult for a noob to find out that kind of info by looking at manufacturer sites and the like. They just assume one knows, I guess.

Thanks again for your help; it's appreciated.

Geezer

The cloud lifter requires, but doesn't pass through phantom power.

You'll need to go mic - cloudlifter - device with phantom power.