Ribbon mics.. why?

Rick Charming

Hiya,

I've never had the opportunity to play with ribbon mics of any variety. Is there anything I need to know about them? How do you use them? What situations would you use them in?

Thanks guys!

The three main thing to remember is that they require a lot of clean gain because their signal strenghth is low, they are nearly always a figure-8 pattern, and must be protected against gusts of wind and rough handling.

Apart from that their main characteristic is a very smooth and mellow response, very good for taking the edge of of brass for example.

No shit! I'm a sax player by trade and arrange for and record horn sections all the time. Maybe that's something I should be looking into in the near future..

Sax mics that have worked well for me include:

RE-20 (not a ribbon, but a really good and useful dynamic mic)
AEA R84 ribbon mic
Beyer M160 ribbon mic

I'm interested to see how some of the Group Buy ribbons work on sax.

Another thing to remember about ribbons is that they don't need phantom power (many of them don't, at least)--in fact, it can ruin them in a flash. :eek:

Take a look at the Cascade FatHead II and the Cascade X-15.

Cascade has some sound clips available for the X-15 on brass instruments. Sounds amazing.

But the Apex 210 is a better buy overall, same sound but better package and much better price (from fullcompass.com).

My Fathead arrived with a tiny screw tumbling around inside the metal screen! An obvious manufacturing flaw. Oddly it had a nasty hum. They replaced it at no extra charge with the Fathead II, but then that one arrived in a wood box that was splintered because it didnt' fit the mic. They sent me a new box, but the damage to their rep was, imo, already done.

The Apex is distributed by Yorkville, padded aluminum flight case and velour bag, much better build. I use the Fathead on my guitar cab, but I use the Apex for vocs.