Ribbon Mics: Any thoughts?

Zombie King

I've been thinking about getting a ribbon mic for recording harmonica (mainly) and possibly voice and/or acoustic guitar.

I have no experience with ribbon mics but I understand they can lend a "smoothing" quality to the typically harsh sound of (non amplified) harmonica.

I know of Royer and I think Ocktava offers one - but who else makes a decent (affordable) ribbon mic that would be good for this application?

I'd like to do it as cheaply as possible.

Z

I don't think I'd use a ribbon on a harmonica! At least not within 3' of one. That could very well blow it out.
Beyer M-160 or M-260's are very good ribbons mics. Steven Sank can even re-ribbon them with RCA ribbons which is a significant upgrade.

It's the wind blast that can damage them.You can set a Royer in front of an amp that's reasonably loud with no problem but if you pick it up an blow into it, it can be damaged.

My thought is I like 'em for a lot of things. They're a nice flavor not everyone has. If you're interested, Stephen Sank, who does the RCA mod, may be able to help hook you up with a deal on a used Beyer. I was looking for an M260, and a friend of his had recently brought some back from a pillaging expedition in Germany. I also ordered the mod. Stephen's site is:
http://www.thuntek.net/~bk11/home.htm

cheers
-kent

I see no problems using the Royer R121 on harmonica, so long as you're not blowing directly into it. Also, if it *does* get blown into from the *front* by accident, an internal screen prevents the ribbon from being dislodged. Don't let a blast of air hit the rear of the mic, though, or you'll be sending for a replacement ribbon (they're user-replaceable in the 121).

The Royer SF-1 and the other ribbons are more fragile. But you could still record harmonica with them. Just keep off-axis, and put a pop-screen in front of the mic.