Replacing Headphone Speakers

SteveM

... or upgrading them. Anyone ever try this? I got a pair of retro pioneer headphones I like. They sound good at lower volumes but not at the volumes I record at. I like them better than my AKG's in that the cans are more isolated. Just wondering if it's possible to upgrade the insides. I'm not even sure if I get them apart yet.

Last edited:
While I'm asking. I wonder what makes some headphones louder than others. I just looked in these and there is nothing else than the wire and speaker. But it's obvious my AKG's are much louder. I also have another pair of AKG studio headphones that are not loud and you have to crank the volume way up on them. I guess I'm wondering if you can add something in line to boost the signal.

Not meant to be a thread just to me but, ..... :D I did discover my "louder" headphones have a small ceramic cap.

Hey,
I'm no expert by any stretch, but I think the volume difference between headphones is largely due to differences in impedance.
Again, no expert but, I think impedance is dictated by coil material, length, thickness, and possibly other things.

I think earbuds typically have low impedance and, as such, are louder than 'studio' phones.
My HD280s are 64 ohm, but I had beyer DT100s that were 400 ohm.

The latter were pretty much useless when plugged into an ipod or similar.

EDIT: If they're two way headphones there'll be a crossover, possibly explaining the capacitor.

Low impedance input. ;)

(I'm not sure what I think that means.)

haha I get tripped up on the impedance thing anyway. I think what you said though is probably about right. There'd have to be an amp of some sort in there if were to be any different.