Replacement for GadgetLabs Card?

Michael S

I've been using a GadgetLabs Wave Pro 8/24 for nearly two years on a Win98 system with Cakewalk Pro Audio 9. I've been extremely happy with it, but when I built up a new recording computer and wanted to load Windows 2000 so I can take better advantage of the new SONAR software, I couldn't get the card to work with W2K. It was only then that I found out GadgetLabs went out of business and ther ain't no support from here on in.

Can anyone recommend a good replacement that works in W2K and XP? I do need the 8 ins & 8 outs. I record mainly analog (guitars, vocs, V-drums, etc).

I've looked into the M-Audio series and heard a bit about the MOTU units. Is there any advantage to going the firewire route?

Any info is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Michael S.

There are Windows 2000 drivers at the gadgetlabs site, with special installation instructions. Did you find those? I don't think they do WDM or ASIO though, so no low latency mixing :(

I don't think that there is a deal as good as gadgetlabs anymore. I remember the 824 was like under 400 bucks right? It's a bummer that they went out of business.

Slackmaster 2000

The Delta 1010lt is 10in/10out (8analog,2 s/pdif) for $379...drawback is that it has unbalanced RCA plugs.....but it does come with 2 preamps.....

Michael, I am in exactly the same position as you, using a 824 with Windows 98SE. Fo the moment I am content to stick with what I have, but if I had to switch cards the Delta 1010 (as Gidge mentioned) would be looked at, also the Aardvark Q10 ( http://www.aardvark-pro.com/direct_pro_q10.html ).

Slack, From what I have seen on the Gadget Labs discussion board on Yahoo ( http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gadgetlabs/ ) it doesn't seem like anyone has been able to get the unit to work correctly under 2000. I'm considering taking a crack at it myself, just to see if it can be done, but for now I'll probably just hang with Win98.

Reg,