Red Rocket from San Jose, CA

jamiecer

Hey, This is my first time back in a while. After a back operation and major kitchen renovation, I've been let back into my home studio. This is the first song I've mixed in 6 mos. Actually, the band did most of the recording in San Jose in Logic5 then came down to LA, where we O/D guitars (electric & acoustic) and vocals using ProTools. The band is called red rocket and they are from San Jose, CA. In January, I'll be going up north to record a full lentgh CD with the guys. It's looking like we'll be recording in what was once the stockade at Fort Ord. Pretty cool.

Check out the song and give me some feedback please.

Thanks,

Jamie

http://homepage.mac.com/jamiecer/.cv/jamiecer/Public/Formulav1.0.mp3-binhex.hqx

Did It Suck That Bad?

I think I have become a little embarassed. I guess the people who listened felt that it was so bad they didn't want to hurt my feelings by giving me some negative feedback. I'm 30, I can take some abuse. I was just looking for anything. Positive or negative.

It's probably the fact that nobody except those with a mac can listen....

hqx binhex files aren't widely supported.... Post a link to a 'real' mp3, you'll have a better chance!

W.

oops!

I think this link should work.
people.we.mediaone.net/jamiecer/Formulav1.0.mp3
Thanks for giving it a shot.

j

I am really liking it a lot right now. I cant comment on the mix since I am listening on phones. THe volume sounds a bit low though.

I liked it too. I thought the vocals sounded really nice - like the singers voice a lot too. The mix has a lot of air to it. I keep feeling like there is something missing though - needs something to bring cohesion. The vocal totally carries the song without much help from the instrumentation. Everything else, even the drums at times, feel like they are there just for decoration.

Why'd you have to go to LA to record guitars? There are so many great Pro Tools studios up here in NoCal!