recording with a metronome

carbonscoring

my band will be doing a recording in a few months at a very nice studio. In preperation we decided to demo all of the songs that we will be doing at home. The Engineer/Producer suggested that my drummer practice our songs with a metronome, since he records the drummers with metronome and he mentioned that if he was not used to practcing with a metronome that it takes longer.

I guess my questions are, what is a good inexpensive metronome to purchase to have my drummer practice with. And since im not a drummer how do you take in account of timming changes in the middle of a song? Is there any other benifits of using a metronome other than making sure that the drummer stays on top of things.

thanks in advance

I'd look for one with a volume control and a light or some kind of visual that can be followed.

The other advantages are being able to punch in and do overdubs without worrying about the tempo going nuts.

As an engineer, I almost always "suggest" a click track - It keeps the feel alive without the "sterile" feel of a drum machine. It makes editing a breeze. If editing is needed at some point (radio edits, verse/chorus replacement) it's nearly imposible without a click track.

As a multi-instrumentalist, when I'm playing drums to a click I need to HEAR it. Lights are great, but most drummers (myself included) have a pretty difficult time trying to keep in play with a flashing light. My eyes have more imprtant things to do. That being said, get or get access to headphones that are superior at isloation. What you DON'T want is your click track bleeding into the overheads.

As far as the click itself is concerned, metronomes, cheapo drum machines, many keyboards even have a click setting.

If your drummer can get into the groove with a click, your project will undoubtedly benefit from it in more ways than one...

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com