Recording with 2488 NEO

sketterman

This is a bit of a multi point question regarding EQ, and I'm an admitted noob, so please bear with me for a minute.

Let's say that I'm recording a kick drum to a track on the NEO, and I already know that the mixing process is going to call for EQ to be cut below 80hz, and boosted slightly at 125hz. These, of course, are both low end EQ. I understand the NEO allows you to choose a few freq's in each band (hi, mid, low)to cut or boost with its onboard EQ, but I dont think you can do multiple frequency boosts and cuts within the same band simultaneously. So I would have to either cut below 80hz and thats it (for the low band), or boost 125hz and thats it (again for the low band), but not do both. (If the NEO allows you to make desired cuts/boosts in each freq of each band at the same time, just tell me I'm an idiot and ignore the rest of my post.)

Now, I'm also very new to home recording, so I'm assuming there is a way I can still do both of these low end changes on this kick drum track. How would I go about doing that? Could I boost the 125hz on that track on the NEO, then use the aux sends/buss's/effects loops or whatever to send that track to a separate, unused track on the NEO and then apply EQ again using that new track?

Or, I also have a mackie 1604 VLZ PRO mixer. Could I run the kick drum through the mixer, cut or add one of the low end freqs during recording, then use the NEO to boost/cut the other low end? This seems like it would work but doesnt seem like the best idea.

I hope this makes sense. I have the same issue with a couple instruments, well all of them I imagine, so whatever info you guys can give me would help me apply this to my whole mix. I know I could purchase a separate EQ and use that to adjust 20 bands at once, but I'd like to avoid that if I can use what I already have. Thanks a lot in advance.

Yes, you made sense. I understand the question. :)