recording vocals with compression

Wrangler

After recording vocals with some compression I notced that they weren't quite as clear as when they were recorded without compression. I was trying to keep them from clipping during the louder parts.
Is this common? Suggestions for compression settings?
Record at lower volumes and screw the compressor??

Feel free to beat me up with advice!

Well, I’m no expert on this recording stuff but I can tell you what I do (I think). I usually do use a compressor when recording my vocals and have it set between 2-3:1 ratio with a relatively short attack and shortish release (don’t know the exact ms I have it set at) and a threshold of no more than -10db (less if possible). My goal is to get a good strong signal in there without changing the sound of the vocal too much. Of course when I say, this is what I do…that means I have only done it a handful of times as I am pretty new at this so take it for what it’s worth.

The other option to reduce the amount of compression needed is good vocal technique and good mic placement. One of these I have under control fairly well, the other I don’t and I ain’t telling which :D:D

Wrangler said:
Feel free to beat me up with advice!

Alright. Try rolling off the bass before you compress. Start around 100 hz, semi-steep. If it makes the voice sound too thin, then move it down to 80/90 hz or so untill it sounds good. Then compress. What could be happening: low end transients might be engaging the compressor unnecessarily and mucking things up.

You also might want to try boosting a few db's around 4-5 khz for a little more annunciation . . . and perhaps a little 14 khz for air (most people will tell you 12 khz, but I can't stand that sound any more).