Recording Software For Demos. What To Use?

apoczen211

I have been a fan of Pro Tools for a long time and since I have upgraded my computer to a new 2012 Macbook, my PT7.4 no longer works with this system. I'd like to continue using PT's because I am fluent with its work flow, I just don't feel spending $400 for the upgrade is really worth it to record demos at this time. Will Apple logic 9 or any other software that is a little cheaper be worth the switch. I'm mostly recording bands with guitar, bass, drums, vox, etc... All the sequencers and MIDI stuff is not a big must for me, it would really be for my own pleasure. Can someone recommend a software that is worth changing over to that is good for recording these kinds of instruments. Mixing and editing of waves is an important aspect that I always found dull in Logic Pro 7 and Cubase's earlier versions. Any and all suggestions are welcome.

REAPER

Un-crippled demo. $60 if you like it. Don't be scared away by the low price. It's an awesome DAW that will give you more than what you need.

Thanks for the response my fellow Montrealer. I'll check it out. I was really considering Logic 9, but I'll see what this is about.

Demoing through Garageband is the fastest and most user friendly DAW out there IMO... I've whipped out demos going direct-in in a few hours. Very easy! Good luck!

Regardless of how many tracks you can record in any DAW, you should be asking how many physical inputs you can get with your interface. I use FL Studio which an has unlimited number of recording slots (99 to be precise) but it's no good with a soundcard (my E=MU 0404) that has only one input. :D

I have been a fan of Pro Tools for a long time and since I have upgraded my computer to a new 2012 Macbook, my PT7.4 no longer works with this system. I'd like to continue using PT's because I am fluent with its work flow, I just don't feel spending $400 for the upgrade is really worth it to record demos at this time.