Recording school

RobbieD

HEy should i Go to a recording school that lasts a year and cost like 10 000 around... will i learn a lot from these schools??

If you want to go into this sort of thing as a career go for it, but if not, its a waste of money, there are loads and loads of great tutorials on you tube and loads of great books

Study hard, be the best you can and make it. if your spending that much
I'm thinking this is what i'll do.
good luck

hm ok what do you guys think I need to get a good job in making music in let's say a gaming company or movies or commercials advertisements. A recording school or a music school???

i have a degree in fine art and do graphic design for huge corporation. I need the degree to get a decent job in this part of the field because they look for degrees on a resume. Take that into consideration.

The number one thing for most art stuff though is portfolio and experience. I would spend the 10,000 on the school BUT I WOULD TRY TO GET A JOB IN A STUDIO AS WELL. Any studio at all. anything related to the field. Get a job at a crappy studio and leave there as soon as you find a better one. Do this as much as possible to get somewhere solid.

The best thing on a resume, IMHO, is some sort of degree and WORK EXPERIENCE. If people see you worked in the field while learning about it they will take this into consideration so much.

steve

so you think i should finish my music school and keep practising and reading my recording and mixing skills?

Hey,
I don't want to discourage you from doing what you want to do, but make sure aware of how things really are before you commit.

Shop around for work now as if you are qualified already.
Spend a few weeks seriously looking for a job, even though you know you wont get it.

It might be a real eye opener as to how little work there is, or how competitive existing work is.